the scaling up of innovation labs

The first Entrelabs workshop took place this past April 13th 2015. Participants included the PACA Region Lab, the Pays de la Loire Region Innovation Team, the Futurs Publics program of SGMAP and the network of innovation reference persons of the City of Paris public departments.

Several communities and French administrations have set up in-house the means for innovation and action-research based on design, social innovation and the social sciences and humanities. Entrelabs are workshops held twice yearly to meet the needs of these entities for evaluation and improvement.

The workshop investigations were largely concentrated on the question of increasing the scale of these innovation labs, in order to move from an experimental procedure to an established procedure shared by the institution as a whole. How can a user-based approach be spread to the institutional level, sensitizing as many civil servants as possible and making them proactive and independent in conducting innovative procedures? How can what has already been accomplished be recognized and how can innovation be valued beyond political changes in governance?

In light of the feedback from several attempts (successful or not) made to anticipate generalizing to a larger scale and the drafting of a map of obstacles and possible leverage effects, the participants worked on producing a grid of proposals focused on two major challenges: where are we going – what is the trajectory these Labs will follow? What is the realpolitik of the Labs – what is their strategy for survival when confronted with reality?

Learn more about the project: download the French delivrable.


April 2015


Superpublic, Paris 11e

Initiated by whom?

the Lab of PACA region,
the innovation team of Pays de la Loire region,
Futurs Publics (SGMAP),
the innovation referents network from Paris City.

Entrelabs :
le passage à l’échelle des labos

Le 13 avril dernier, le premier atelier Entrelabs avait lieu. Il réunissait le Labo de la Région PACA, l’Equipe Innovation de la Région Pays de la Loire, le programme Futurs Publics du SGMAP et le réseau des référents innovation de la Ville de Paris.

Plusieurs collectivités et administrations françaises se sont dotées en interne de moyens d’innovation et de recherche-action par le design, l’innovation sociale et les sciences humaines. Les Entrelabs sont des ateliers de travail semestriels destinées à répondre à leurs besoins d’évaluation et de perfectionnement.

Les travaux ont avant tout porté sur la question du passage à l’échelle de ces labos, celui d’une démarche expérimentale à une démarche pérenne et partagée par l’institution : comment diffuser une démarche centrée-usagers dans l’institution, à la fois en sensibilisant le plus d’agents possible mais aussi en les rendant pro-actifs et autonomes dans la conduite de cette démarche ? Comment valoriser ce qui a été fait et pérenniser cette approche au-delà des changements politiques ?

Après le retour sur plusieurs tentatives (réussies ou pas) pour anticiper ce passage à l’échelle et la cartographie des obstacles et leviers possibles, les participants ont travaillé à la production d’une grille de propositions autour de deux défis majeurs : où va-t-on et quelle est la trajectoire des Labos ? La realpolitik des labos, ou quelle stratégie de survie face à la réalité ?

Livrables & médias

Quand ça ?

avril 2015


Où ça ?

Superpublic, Paris 11e


Initié par qui ?

RE•ACTEUR PUBLIC
Le Labo de la Région PACA,
l’équipe Innovation de la Région Pays de la Loire,
le programme Futurs Publics du SGMAP,
le réseau des référents innovation de la Ville de Paris.