Sonar, deep diving under the surface of public innovation

Posted on 6 April 2018 par Stéphane Vincent
visuel sonar

We did it ! We are pleased to present Sonar, a tool to help local governments find their way in the meanders of innovation, especially in times of heavy weather: strong democratic distrust, increasing uncertainty, defeat of many public policies, etc.

Sonar, to navigate the troubled waters of innovation

Sonar is designed to help you define where about on innovation your administration is, and to answer questions such as: What forms of innovation are available and how to combine these depending on your situation? how to go from innovation “once in a while” to a systemic and progressive change approach? Where to start, what are the steps, pitfalls to avoid? How can you go further and transform your conception and implementation of public policies upstream?

An unusual mode of production, in partnership with France Urbaine

The current version of Sonar is the result of a sprint – a 3-day non-stop working session organized in Reims on February 27th, 28th and March 1st, 2018 with the representatives of 10 local governments, the 27th Region and one creative agency, GRRR. The sprint was preceded by four work sessions organized in 2017 in partnership with France Urbaine. Version 1.0 of Sonar was presented at the meetings of France Urbaine in Dijon on April 5th.

What’s in Sonar ?

Sonar GIF-downsized_large

Sonar comes in the form of a newspaper printed in A2 format, consisting of one quiz, definitions and graphics:

– A quiz to help you define your innovation style – whether it’s inspired by entrepreneurial or technological cultures, humanities or just a little bit of everything;

– A map to help you find your way in the extreme diversity of concepts and trends, from “fablabs” to “evidence based-policy”, and compose your own menu;

– All the steps to take, from the first ones to the “ideal incarnated by systemic change;

– A new public policy factory, less rigid and more adaptive;

 

How to use Sonar ?

Sonar was conceived as a tool for self-diagnostic and awareness raising of public decision-makers and elected officials, to sustain debate and critical reflection on innovation in public organizations. It claims no objectivity ; we made choices which may be challenged and further improved.

Here are some tips for using it or explaining it to other people:

1. Start by reading the intro and take the quiz (pages 2 and 3, then solutions page 4)

2. Immerse yourself in the mapping (pages 5 and 6). Did you know all of these terms? Which ones are more or less familiar? Do you recognise yourself in the proposed classification? And in the comments around the map? Add your remarks, trends that you eel are missing.

3. Go to the left page of the central poster. Can you situate yourself or your local government on this trajectory, among the different stages?

4. Around the right page of the central poster. Do you find the functioning of your local government in this cycle of public policy design? Have things been done in your local government to address these, from downstream to the most upstream of the decision?

Download the web version of Sonar here.

Thank you so much to all of those who contributed to Sonar : Francine Fenet (Nantes Métropole), Hélène Clot, Laurent Van Herrewegue (Metro Grenoble), Sylvie Delatte (Communauté urbaine de Dunkerque), Benoi Zenou, Nicolas Robiquet (Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole), Guillaume Laigle (Grand Lyon), Sandrine André, Marie Jacquin-Pavard (Eurométropole de Strasbourg), Sylvie Makarenko (Bordeaux Métropole), Doriane Leborgne, Thomas Vincent (Métropole Européenne de Lille), Dominique Paret (Saint-Etienne Métropole), Claudie Renault, Valérie Auvergne (Rennes Métropole), Gaëtan Boisteau (Angers Loire Métropole), David Constans-Martigny, Sébastien Tison (France Urbaine). Facilitation and design : Stéphane Vincent, Louise Guillot, Lilas Ozanne (La 27e Région, à Paris), Jacky Foucher (Grrr | Agence créative à Nantes). Typographies : Faune, Alice Savoie / Cnap ; In ni, Sandrine Nugue / Cnap

Sonar, un outil pour dépasser l’injonction à l’innovation

Posté le 6 avril 2018 par Stéphane Vincent
visuel sonar

C’est fait ! Nous sommes heureux de vous présenter Sonar, un outil pour aider les villes et les métropoles à mieux s’orienter dans les méandres de l’innovation, en particulier en période de gros temps : forte défiance démocratique, incertitude croissante, mise en échec d’un grand nombre de politiques publiques, etc.

Sonar, pour naviguer dans les eaux troubles de l’innovation

Sonar est conçu pour vous aider à diagnostiquer à quel stade votre collectivité se trouve, et répondre à des questions telles que : Quelles sont les formes d’innovation à votre disposition et comment les combiner en fonction de votre situation ? comment passer de l’innovation « au coup par coup » à une démarche de changement systémique et progressive ? Par quoi commencer, quelles sont les étapes, les pièges à éviter ? Comment aller plus loin, et transformer dès en amont votre façon de concevoir et mettre en oeuvre des politiques publiques ? 

Un mode de production original, sous l’égide de France Urbaine

La version actuelle de Sonar est le fruit d’un sprint -une session de travail de 3 jours non-stop organisée à Reims les 27, 28 février et 1er mars 2018 avec les représentants de 10 collectivités, la 27e Région et l’agence créative GRRR. Le sprint avait été précédé de 4 sessions de travail organisée en 2017 sous l’égide de France Urbaine, à retrouver ici. La version 1.0 de Sonar a été présentée lors des rencontres de France Urbaine à Dijon le 5 avril.

Que contient Sonar ?

Sonar GIF-downsized_large

Sonar se présente sous la forme d’un journal imprimé au format A2, composé d’un quizz, de définitions et de graphiques : 

  • Un quizz pour vous aider à définir votre style d’innovation -qu’il s’inspire des cultures entrepreneuriales ou technologiques, des sciences humaines ou d’un peu de tout ça ;
  • Une cartographie pour vous repérer dans l’extrême diversité des concepts et des tendances, des « fablabs » à « l’évidence based-policy », et composer votre propre menu ;
  • Toutes les étapes à franchir, depuis les premiers pas jusqu’à l’idéal incarné par le changement systémique ;
  • Une nouvelle fabrique des politiques publiques, moins rigide et plus adaptative ;

 

Comment utiliser Sonar ?

Sonar a été pensé comme un outil d’auto-diagnostic et de sensibilisation des décideurs publics et des élus, pour provoquer du débat et une réflexion critique sur l’innovation dans les organisations publiques. Il ne prétend à aucune objectivité et a fait l’objet d’arbitrages qui peuvent être contestés et faire l’objet d’améliorations ultérieures. Voici quelques conseils pour l’utiliser ou expliquer son fonctionnement à d’autres personnes :

1. Commencez par lire l’intro et faites le quizz (pages 2 et 3, puis solutions page 4)

2. Plongez-vous dans la cartographie (pages 5 et 6). Connaissiez-vous tous ces termes ? Lesquels vous semblent plus ou moins familiers ? Vous retrouvez-vous dans la classification proposée ? Et dans les commentaires autour de la carte ? Ajoutez vos remarques, les tendances qui vous semblent manquer.

3. Rendez-vous page de gauche du poster central. Parvenez-vous à vous situer (ou situer votre collectivité) sur cette trajectoire, parmi les différentes étapes ?

4. Au tour de la page de droite du poster central. Retrouvez-vous le fonctionnement de votre collectivité dans ce cycle de production des politiques publiques ? Des choses ont-elles été entreprises au sein de votre collectivité pour y remédier, du plus en aval au plus en amont de la décision ?

Pour télécharger la version web de Sonar : cliquer ici.

Merci à toutes celles et ceux qui ont contribué à la réalisation de Sonar : Francine Fenet (Nantes Métropole), Hélène Clot, Laurent Van Herrewegue (Metro Grenoble), Sylvie Delatte (Communauté urbaine de Dunkerque), Benoi Zenou, Nicolas Robiquet (Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole), Guillaume Laigle (Grand Lyon), Sandrine André, Marie Jacquin-Pavard (Eurométropole de Strasbourg), Sylvie Makarenko (Bordeaux Métropole), Doriane Leborgne, Thomas Vincent (Métropole Européenne de Lille), Dominique Paret (Saint-Etienne Métropole), Claudie Renault, Valérie Auvergne (Rennes Métropole), Gaëtan Boisteau (Angers Loire Métropole), David Constans-Martigny, Sébastien Tison (France Urbaine). Conception, animation : Stéphane Vincent, Louise Guillot, Lilas Ozanne (La 27e Région, à Paris), Jacky Foucher (Grrr | Agence créative à Nantes). Typographies : Faune, Alice Savoie / Cnap ; In ni, Sandrine Nugue / Cnap